StarterKits

There are several so-called “starter kits” which provide default Emacs configurations that reflect the preferences of their creators. They are all quite different from the default GnuEmacs default configuration.

Ranked in terms of popularity, as measured by the number of stars on their GitHub repos (mostly updated 2020-07; some size numbers from 2016-01-16):

Name Stars Contributors Commits Size (kb, zipped)Site
Spacemacs 21.4k 1088109329700https://github.com/syl20bnr/spacemacs/tree/develop
Doom Emacs 10.5k 43513718989https://github.com/hlissner/doom-emacs
purcell emacs.d 5.9k 21309267https://github.com/purcell/emacs.d
Prelude 4.6k 1661360661https://github.com/bbatsov/prelude
magnars emacs.d 1.4k 91490526https://github.com/magnars/.emacs.d
Emacs Live 1.4k 39715https://github.com/overtone/emacs-live
Centaur Emacs 1.3k 22344767https://github.com/seagle0128/.emacs.d
Better Defaults 8412324https://git.sr.ht/~technomancy/better-defaults
Emacs Starter Kit 79221568190https://github.com/eschulte/emacs24-starter-kit/
oh-my-emacs 70810333110https://github.com/xiaohanyu/oh-my-emacs
scimax 628191631https://github.com/jkitchin/scimax
ohai-emacs 3799124170https://github.com/bodil/ohai-emacs
Graphene 289434740https://github.com/rdallasgray/graphene
ergoemacs-mode 2372127991800https://github.com/ergoemacs/ergoemacs-mode
ocodo .emacs.d 1004935246000https://github.com/ocodo/.emacs.d
Wakib Emacs 231938https://github.com/darkstego/wakib-emacs
Rho Emacs 22137~https://github.com/GChristensen/rho-emacs
Onboard 01458https://github.com/monkeyjunglejuice/emacs.onboard